Home General Is national left or right wing?

Is national left or right wing?

Is national left or right wing?

The New Zealand National Party (Māori: Rōpū Nāhinara o Aotearoa), shortened to National (Nāhinara) or the Nats, is a centre-right political party in New Zealand. It is one of two major parties that largely dominate contemporary New Zealand politics, alongside its traditional rival, the Labour Party.

Is NZ First right wing?

New Zealand First (Māori: Aotearoa Tuatahi), commonly abbreviated to NZ First, is a nationalist and populist political party in New Zealand. New Zealand First takes a centrist position on economic issues and a social-conservative position on social issues such as criminal justice.

How many electorates does NZ have in 2020?

The 72 electorates are made up from 65 general and seven Māori electorates. The number of electorates increases periodically in line with national population growth; the number was increased from 71 to 72 starting at the 2020 general election.

How many seats are there in the NZ government?

New Zealand Parliament

New Zealand Parliament Pāremata Aotearoa
Seats 120
House of Representatives political groups Government (65) Labour (65) In co-operation with (10) Green (10) Official Opposition (33) National (33) Crossbench (12) ACT (10) Māori (2)

How often are NZ elections?

New Zealand general elections generally occur every three years. Unlike some other countries, New Zealand has no fixed election-date for general elections, but rather the prime minister determines the timing of general elections by advising the governor-general when to issue the writs for a general election.

What is a list MP in New Zealand?

A list MP is a member of parliament (MP) who is elected from a party list rather than from a geographical constituency. Their presence in Parliament is owed to the number of votes that their party won, not to votes received by the MP personally.

How does MMP in NZ work?

Under MMP, New Zealand voters have two votes. The first vote is the electorate vote. The electorate vote works on a plurality system whereby whichever candidate gets the greatest number of votes in each electorate wins the seat. The second vote is the party vote.

How many politicians are in New Zealand?

Unlike many other countries, New Zealand does not have an upper house or Senate. We elect around 120 Members of Parliament (MPs) to a single chamber of Parliament called the House of Representatives.

Also Read:  How can I sell my product on Facebook?

Who is the Labour candidate for Auckland Central?

Helen White (politician)

Helen White MP
Assumed office 17 October 2020
Personal details
Born 1967/1968 (age 52–54)
Political party Labour

Who is the deputy leader of the Labour party NZ?

Kelvin Glen Davis (born 2 March 1967) is a New Zealand politician and a member of the House of Representatives who has served as Deputy Leader of the Labour Party since 1 August 2017.

Who is the Labour candidate for Whangarei?

Emily Henderson (politician)

Emily Henderson MP
Preceded by Shane Reti
Majority 431
Personal details
Political party Labour

Who is the Labour candidate for Tauranga?

Janette Rose Tinetti (born 1968) is a New Zealand politician and a Member of Parliament in the House of Representatives for the Labour Party….Jan Tinetti.

The Honourable Jan Tinetti MP
Assumed office 6 November 2020
Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern
Preceded by Julie Anne Genter

Who is Labour health minister?

Jonathan Michael Graham Ashworth PC (born 14 October 1978) is a British Labour Party politician who has served as Shadow Secretary of State for Health and Social Care since 2016 and Member of Parliament (MP) for Leicester South since 2011.

Who is in charge of the Labour party?

The incumbent is Keir Starmer, who was elected in April 2020 to succeed Jeremy Corbyn, having previously spent 9 months as Shadow Minister of Immigration and 3 years, 5 months as Shadow Secretary of State for Exiting the European Union, in Corbyn’s shadow cabinet.

Who is the MP for Auckland?

Chlöe Swarbrick

Chlöe Swarbrick MP
Born 26 June 1994 Auckland, New Zealand
Nationality New Zealand-Aotearoa
Political party Green
Website Green Party profile

Who is the MP for Birkenhead?

Michael Whitley (born 17 November 1951) is a British Labour Party politician. He has served as the Member of Parliament (MP) for Birkenhead since 2019.

How many Maori seats are there in NZ Parliament?

Every area in New Zealand is covered by both a general and a Māori electorate; as of 2020, there are seven Māori electorates. Since 1967 any candidate of any ethnicity has been able to stand in a Maori electorate.

Also Read:  Can someone tell if I check their location Imessage?

Who is MP for Northland?

List MPs

Election Winner
2014 election David Clendon
2017 election Winston Peters
Willow-Jean Prime
2020 election Mark Cameron

Who is the MP for Tauranga?

The current MP for Tauranga is Simon Bridges of the National Party, who won the seat in the 2008 New Zealand general election, after the previous MP, Bob Clarkson of the National Party, retired.

Is Winston Peters a list MP?

Despite losing his seat, New Zealand First secured 7.2% of the party vote with the party’s parliamentary presence being reduced from twelve to nine seats. Since Peters ranked first on the New Zealand First list, he remained in Parliament as a list MP.

Who is the MP for Whangarei?

Shane Reti

Shane Reti QSM MP
Assumed office 17 October 2020
Member of the New Zealand Parliament for Whangarei
In office 20 September 2014 – 17 October 2020
Preceded by Phil Heatley

Who won Whangarei seat 2020?


Election Winner
2011 election Phil Heatley
2014 election Shane Reti
2017 election
2020 election Emily Henderson

Who is Winston Peters partner?

Jan Trotman

How old is Winston Peters?

76 years (April 11, 1945)